About TEFGA/Calendar

The Transportation Education Foundation of Georgia (TEFGA) was developed in 2007 as a non-profit organization partnered with the DOE to create awareness for transportation education. TEFGA strives to engage business and industry, instructors and students in the ever changing arena of transportation. By highlighting the job choices in automotive, aviation and maritime, as well as, the tie in to our public safety sector, TEFGA has allowed students to expand their horizons and realize the job opportunities available in the transportation field.

  • Supporting programs in the following career pathways: Aviation Maintenance, Flight Operations, Automotive Service, Collision, Railway, Maritime, Public Safety and Distribution and Logistics.
  • Facilitating career exploration opportunities in transportation.
  • Providing work-based learning options for students through an internship program, which should continually adding new industry partners who are willing to work with students and train them for a career in the transportation field.
  • Striving to constantly raise the standards of transportation career pathways education and ensure Georgia students receive rigorous training.
  • Supporing local school systems in staffing, training, and certifying teachers.
  • Establishing partnerships between local businesses and school systems with certified programs, who are training the workforce of tomorrow.
  • Hosting the Transportation Expo and corresponding contests.

Board of Directors

Will Boyter
TEFGA Board Chairman
Hunter Engineering Company
Dallas, GA
willboyter@aol.com
(678) 333-7976

John S. Turner
Snap-on Industrial
Stockbridge, GA
John.S.Turner@snapon.com
(770) 265-6199

Steve Conway
Technical College System of Georgia
Academic Affairs/Curriculum Specialist
Atlanta, GA
sconway@tcsg.edu
(404) 679-1669

Dr. Debi Huffman
Fernbank Science Center
Atlanta, GA
Debi.huffman@fernbank.edu
(678) 874-7136

David Mihuta
Freightliner of Savannah
Savannah, GA
davidm@freightlinerofsavannah.com
(912) 964-8574 ext. 202

Mike Batchelor
ASE – Youth Education Systems
ASE Industry Education Alliance Manager
Haleyville, AL
Mike.Batchelor@ayes.org
(205) 269-2236

Matt Brown
Snap-on Industrial
Atlanta, GA
Matthew.J.Brown@snap-on.com
(770) 597-7928

Liz Porter
RLP Aviation
Woodstock, GA
lp1954@gmail.com
678-491-5843

Joseph S. Marks
(retired) HAECO Americas
Macon, GA
marksj7@gmail.com
(478) 955-4159

Tommy Thompson
(retired) United States Air Force
Maintenance Manager - Master Instructor
(retired) Atlanta Public Schools & Fulton County Schools
High School Aviation Maintenance Instructor
tthompson1059@comcast.net
(678) 910-13911

Patrick Joyce
Executive Director, TEFGA
White, GA
joyce@tefga.org
(678) 431-3291

Ashley Brown            Ex-Officio Member
Executive Director
SkillsUSA Georgia
Acworth, GA
abrown@skillsusageorgia.org

Meredith Yoe            Ex-Officio Member
(retired) Dean of Professional and Technical Services
Columbus Technical College
Columbus, GA
myoe@columbustech.edu
(706) 641-4034