About TEFGA/Calendar

The Transportation Education Foundation of Georgia (TEFGA) was developed in 2007 as a non-profit organization partnered with the DOE to create awareness for transportation education. TEFGA strives to engage business and industry, instructors and students in the ever changing arena of transportation. By highlighting the job choices in automotive, aviation and maritime, as well as, the tie in to our public safety sector, TEFGA has allowed students to expand their horizons and realize the job opportunities available in the transportation field.

  • Supporting programs in the following career pathways: Aviation Maintenance, Flight Operations, Automotive Service, Collision, Railway, Maritime, Public Safety and Distribution and Logistics.
  • Facilitating career exploration opportunities in transportation.
  • Providing work-based learning options for students through an internship program, which should continually adding new industry partners who are willing to work with students and train them for a career in the transportation field.
  • Striving to constantly raise the standards of transportation career pathways education and ensure Georgia students receive rigorous training.
  • Supporing local school systems in staffing, training, and certifying teachers.
  • Establishing partnerships between local businesses and school systems with certified programs, who are training the workforce of tomorrow.
  • Hosting the Transportation Expo and corresponding contests.

Board of Directors

Will Boyter
TEFGA Board Chairman
Hunter Engineering Company
Factory Representative
41 Sweet Birch Lane
Dallas, GA 30132
willboyter@aol.com
(678) 333-7976

Vicky Carver Sparks
PEI Logistics
Corporate Administration Office
598 Red Oak Rd
Stockbridge, GA. 30281
vsparks@shippei.com
(800) 744-7911

Steve Conway                    
Technical College System of Georgia
Academic Affairs/Curriculum Specialist
1800 Century Place
Suite 400
Atlanta, GA 30345
sconway@tcsg.edu
(404) 679-1669

Dr. Debi Huffman
Fernbank Science Center
156 Heaton Park Drive NE
Atlanta, GA 30307
Debi.huffman@fernbank.edu
(678) 874-7136

Chad Pruitt            Ex-Officio Member
Program Specialist
Architecture, Construction, Communication and Transportation
Career, Technical and Agriculture Education
Georgia Department of Education
1752 Twin Towers East
205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive, SE
Atlanta, GA 30334
(404) 657-8308 office
CPruitt@doe.k12.ga.us

Phyllis N. Johnson            Ex-Officio Member
Program Specialist
Healthcare Science, Cosmetology, Law and Public Safety
Career, Technical and Agriculture Education
Georgia Department of Education
1752 Twin Towers East
205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive, SE
Atlanta, GA 30334
(404) 463-6404 - office
(404) 651-8984 - fax
pjohnson@doe.k12.ga.us

Liz Porter
RLP Aviation
423 Air Acres Lane
Woodstock, GA 30188
lp1954@gmail.com
678-491-5843

David Mihuta
Freightliner of Savannah
301 O'Leary Road, Savannah, GA
davidm@freightlinerofsavannah.com
(912) 964-8574 ext. 202

Joseph S. Marks
(retired) HAECO Americas
marksj7@gmail.com
150 East Dr. Middle Georgia Regional Airport
Macon, GA 31297
(478) 955-4159

Tommy Thompson
(retired) United States Air Force
Maintenance Manager - Master Instructor
(retired) Atlanta Public Schools & Fulton County Schools
High School Aviation Maintenance Instructor
tthompson1059@comcast.net
(678) 910-13911

Patrick Joyce
Executive Director, TEFGA
joyce@tefga.org
P.O. Box 541
White, GA 30184
(678) 431-3291

Ashley Brown            Ex-Officio Member
Executive Director
SkillsUSA Georgia
1720 Mars Hill Road, Suite 8-332
Acworth, GA 30101
 abrown@skillsusageorgia.org

Meredith Yoe            Ex-Officio Member
(retired) Dean of Professional and Technical Services
Columbus Technical College
myoe@columbustech.edu
928 Manchester Expressway
Columbus, GA 31904-6572
(706) 641-4034